2016 Regional Transit Awardees

TRU_RTA_2016_Logo-FULLFive Exemplary People and Projects to Receive the 2016 Regional Transit Awards

Over 150 regional transit leaders and supporters will come together on May 12 to celebrate important progress made on regional transit and the people who made it possible at the Regional Transit Awards dinner.

Three individuals and two projects will be awarded this year:

  • The 2016 Transit Activist of the Year is Lisa Franklin, founder of Warriors on Wheels and former RTA boardmember. A persistent champion for improved transit, Lisa shines a much-needed spotlight of the challenges faced by people with disabilities trying to use public transit to accomplish vital daily tasks.

    RTA CEO Michael Ford (center) with Warriors on Wheels members Larry Dilworth (left) and Lisa Franklin (right)
    RTA CEO Michael Ford (center) with Warriors on Wheels members Larry Dilworth (left) and Lisa Franklin (right)
  • The Exemplary Innovation Award goes to the Wayne State University Office of Economic Development for their placemaking initiatives and commitment to improving regional transit. Projects from Walk [Wayne State] to car share and bike share exemplify their dedication to a vibrant connected community.
  • Our 2016 Transit Employee of the Year is DDOT bus driver and trainer, DeJuan Brown, for his caring attitude, respectful customer interactions, and professional dedication over nearly two decades of getting people where they need to be.
  • A special new Public Participation Progress Award goes to DDOT for their recognition of the importance of rider voices in transit decision-making, for employees riding the buses, and for seeking public input early in their planning process.

More information about and tickets for the Regional Transit Awards dinner are available at www.DetroitTransit.org/AwardShow.